Mark Griffith and Leslie Kurke honored with named chairs

May 11, 2007

The Chancellor has officially confirmed the appointment of two members of the Department to named chairs, effective July 1, 2007.

Mark Griffith will be the Klio Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, succeeding to Ron Stroud, who is retiring from the Klio Chair. The Klio Chair was endowed by an anonymous donor and is restricted to outstanding members of the Department of Classics.

Leslie Kurke will be the Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor in the Arts and Humanities. This chair is intended for an outstanding professor in the Letters and Science Division of Arts and Humanities and is awarded to a new recipient every five years upon the recommendation of the Dean of Arts and Humanities.